ole Signs Livetronic Pioneers "The New Deal"

[USPRwire, Wed Nov 05 2008] Music Publisher ole has struck a worldwide sync-and-master-representation deal with Toronto-based livetronic pioneers The New Deal.

Under the terms of the multi-year agreement, ole will represent the sync licensing and masters for all The New Deal product issued through the band's Sound+Light label, including the previously released albums Please Be Seated and Gone Gone Gone.

Formed in 1999, the Toronto-based trio-featuring drummer Darren Shearer, bass guitarist Dan Kurtz and keyboardist Jamie Shields-has cultivated a dedicated following around the world with its hi-NRG improvised music, an appealing alchemy of instrumental progressive break beat house music and lengthy jams.

The New Deal, who has appeared at such prestigious events as Bonnaroo and Coachella Music Festivals, Jazz Fest New Orleans and the Detroit Electronic Music Festival; have drawn thousands of loyal audience members to their hypnotizing sell-out performances. Upcoming appearances will see them boarding the sold out Jam Cruise VII event in early January 2009, where they will share the stage with Les Claypool, Martin, Medeski & Wood, Galactic, Karl Denson's Tiny Universe and other premier artists of the jam band scene.

In announcing the deal, Sean Mulligan, ole's General Manager for Los Angeles and Director, U.S. Film, Television & Media, welcomed the group to the ole family stating:

"We are thrilled to be representing The New Deal as a one-stop client. The band's progressive style and eclectic sound is a welcomed addition to our ever-expanding repertoire and we look forward to expanding upon their successes in the film, television and media markets."

The New Deal's Darren Shearer added, "We've always really wanted to work with a publisher that 'got' us. We feel our music, because it's improvised, can morph with the times and that we can also be chameleons, tweaking our signature to fit different genres. That's what really excited me about ole - not only that Robert Ott and Tim Laing really understand The New Deal, but that this is a really good pairing of creative and commerce."

The New Deal's music has been featured in the top-rated CBS program CSI: Crime Scene Investigation and in a commercial starring Emmy-nominated 24 actor Kiefer Sutherland for Miller Genuine Draft Beer.

The New Deal is currently working on a 10th anniversary live album for a 2009 release, and will be performing more live dates throughout the year.

For music or licensing information contact:



About ole: ole is a globally competitive, Canadian owned, full-service music publisher founded by Robert Ott (former VP/GM BMGMP Canada) and Tim Laing (former radio and TV producer and finance executive). ole boasts a team of 25 experienced industry professionals focused on acquisitions, creative development and administration worldwide. With offices in Toronto, Nashville and Los Angeles ole has grown into Canada's largest music publisher in only four years. ole has been named the Canadian Country Music Association Music Publishing Company of the Year for 2008 and 2007, the first time in 15 years the honour has gone to an independent publisher.

The ole catalog includes over thirty-five thousand songs and thirty thousand hours of TV music across all genres. ole has completed over 50MM USD in acquisitions over the past four years, including purchases of the Jody Williams Music catalog, Balmur, Keith Follese, Lighthouse, Frank Myers, Dream Warriors, Logrhythm's Matt Morris titles, Encore, David Tyson, and Marsfilm Music catalogs. ole has also purchased the worldwide music rights for WGBH's award-winning children's series Arthur, Amberwood Entertainment's The Secret World of Benjamin Bear, Rollbots, and sci-fi cult series Lexx, and all of the music in Nelvana's vast TV/film catalog.

ole is an expert in administrating and sub-publishing music copyrights and has concluded worldwide publishing administration agreements with some of the world's leading songwriters and film and television producers. ole is a direct member of SOCAN, ASCAP, BMI, HFA, CMRRA and SESAC. ole leverages considerable industry relationships, board positions and knowledge of key collection issues to enable deep analysis of income trends. This is paired with an aggressive collection policy. For sub-publishing clients ole fields the largest, most sophisticated administrative and creative teams in Canada.

Staff songwriters and composers include: Jack Lenz, Gerald O'Brien, Mark J. Feist, JC Smith, Derek Brin, Rupert Gayle, Tebey, Gilles Godard, Rebecca Everett, Mladen, James Huff, Willie Mack, Kelly Archer, and Roger Springer. ole also administers for songwriters David Kopatz and Dr. Alex Tsisserev of Mad Love Music.

ole co-ventures include Last Gang Publishing, representing artists Mother Mother, Rides Again, Let's Go To War, Panurge, Murray Yates (Forty Foot Echo), and Steven Dall. Nashville-based co-venture Roots Three Music includes songwriters Chris Thorsteinson and Dave Wasyliw of Doc Walker, Bruce Wallace, Steven Lee Olsen, Denny Carr, and Kaci Bolls. ole's urban co-venture with Tanjola (formerly ib Entertainment) has brought Dru, Alonzo, Haydain Neale and Shiloh to the roster. ole has also entered into a co-venture with LA-based Five K Entertainment headed by Victor Murgatroyd, former Vice-President of A&R for j records.

ole songs have appeared in national ad campaigns for Toyota, Sears, The Bay, and Telus as well as televisions series The Sopranos, The Black Donnelly's, The Hills, Cold Case, Trailer Park Boys, Degrassi: The Next Generation, Whistler, Da Kink In My Hair, and Falcon Beach.

Notable copyrights for ole include the Taylor Swift singles "Tim McGraw," "Picture To Burn" and the iTunes No. 1 Selling Country Song of 2007 "Teardrops On My Guitar", Kelly Clarkson's Billboard #1 single "Miss Independent", "Can't Hold Us Down" by Christina Aguilera and Lil' Kim, "Black Velvet" by Alannah Myles, Craig Morgan's "That's What I Love About Sunday" (2005 Billboard Country Song of the Year), "Shoes" by Shania Twain (from the album Music Inspired by Desperate Housewives), Sean Paul's "Change the Game", Trace Adkins' "High", "Long Black Train" by Josh Turner, and "It Was Me" by George Strait. Recent ole cuts include "I'm Already There" by Westlife, "After Tonight" by Justin Nozuka, "Once In A While" by Akon, Kristy Lee Cook's "15 Minutes Of Shame", Gretchen Wilson's "Don't Do Me No Good", "No Man No Cry" by Kelly Rowland, and "Another Pot O' Tea" by Anne Murray/Emmylou Harris.

ole is committed to being the best and most innovative global destination for world-class songwriters, composers, and management talent, and the first choice music source for creators in all media.

Company: AristoMedia
Contact Name: AristoMedia
Contact Email: cwalker@aristomedia.com
Contact Phone: 615-269-7071

Visit website »