James and four others will select 2010 class of Murray Scholars

[USPRwire, Tue Mar 30 2010] The Jim Murray Memorial Foundation (JMMF) has named the five judges for its 2010 Murray Scholars essay competition.  Among the five judges selected is Los Angeles Times Sports Editor, Mike James.  Judges will select the top five journalism students from 28 top colleges and universities to share the $25,000 of scholarship money from the JMMF.  This year marks the 11th year the JMMF has awarded scholarships to the top journalism students in the United States.  Scholarship winners will be announced in August.
Each year the JMMF selects a panel of judges from the sporting press to judge its national essay competition.  Previous judges have included Chicago’s premier sports writer, Bob Verdi, the legendary Rick Reilly, USA Today’s Christine Brennan and HBO’s Frank DeFord, to name a few.  This year's selections, in addition to James include Vic Carucci, NFL.com, Larry Dorman, New York Times, Ron Green Jr, Charlotte Observer and Vicki Michaelis, USA Today.

James commented, “Jim (Murray) was a gentle man who stood firmly by his principles, hated injustice,  mocked hubris and had such timeless, singular style that any column he wrote three decades ago would stand up as a model of extraordinary journalism today.  He spawned a generation or more of columnists who had read him religiously but who could never, of course, reach the heights Jim had attained. He was one of a kind. Period.”

The JMMF essay competition is made available to second and third year students attending top journalism schools in the nation.  Trinity College (Hartford, Conn.), Murray’s alma mater, receives an annual scholarship for a Connecticut-born student.  The five winners will be announced in August. As of 2009,  the JMMF has awarded nearly $350,000 in scholarships to 68 students.  Previous winners have gone on to work for the Associated Press, ESPN, Sports Illustrated, The Washington Post and CNN.

Linda McCoy-Murray, President and Founder of the JMMF, said, "The Foundation is fostering a new generation of writers who depict a touch of Jim Murray humor while displaying humility, integrity, and a passion for the written word.  The Foundation’s goal is to perpetuate Jim’s legacy, while inspiring young journalists nationwide.  We are very pleased Mike James will be a part of the selections this year.”

McCoy-Murray established the 501(c)(3) nonprofit Jim Murray Memorial Foundation to perpetuate her late husband's legacy and the love and dedication to his extraordinary career in journalism.  Murray, joined the Los Angeles Times in February 1961.  He won a Pulitzer Prize for Commentary in 1990 and was named National Sportswriter of the Year 14 times; 12 in consecutive years.  His meritorious contributions to baseball writing landed him a spot in the writers’ wing of Cooperstown (NY) Baseball Hall of Fame in 1988.  Murray died August 16, 1998 at his home in Los Angeles, CA.

For more information or interview requests, please contact Bill McCoy/MME PR at bill@mmepr.com or 213-631-0379.  Donations please contact the Jim Murray Memorial Foundation email MurrayScholars@aol.com or info@jimmurrayfoundation.org or via the JMMF website: www.jimmurrayfoundation.org.

Company: Jim Murray Memorial Foundation

Contact Name: billmccoy

Contact Email: bill@mmepr.com

Contact Phone: 213-631-0379

>>Visit website